Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
5 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Avoid conflict between a local variable in the definition of two functions?

Anonymous User
Anonymous User
Posted 7 years ago

(Sorry for the non-descriptive title, but I'm brand new to Mathematica, and the only way I can show the issue is with an example.)

Attached is a Notebook demonstrating the issue, and here's a link to the same: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzxpw7yVqcD3NHpJcVgtXzNEcDg

Here's copy/paste of the that Notebook's contents:

Definitions

myFunction[a_] := E^(-a^2)

myPlot[b_] := Plot[b[c], {c, -5, +5}]

I intend these two functions to produce identical results:

myTransformA[d_] := FourierTransform[myFunction[e], e, d]

myTransformB[d_] := FourierTransform[myFunction[c], c, d]

Tests

myPlot[myFunction]

myTransformA[x]

myTransformB[x]

myPlot[myTransformA]

I'm expecting the same results from this next line, but instead I get an error:

myPlot[myTransformB]

I infer that the error is due to some conflict between the "c" in the definition of "myPlot" and the "c" in the definition of "myTransformB". But I don't don't understand why the dual-use of "c" creates any conflict. In each of the definitions, isn't the use of "c" local to the definition? Why does it affect what's happening outside the definition? (I'm thinking of local variables in other languages like LISP and C++, but I must be making the wrong conclusion.)
Attachments:
POSTED BY: Anonymous User
6 Replies

I think that those were basic design decision that were made at the very early stages of the prehistory of Mathematica, three decades ago. Some functions protected their internal variables:

x = 1;
Plot[x^2, {x, 0, 1}]

and some others didn't:

x = 1;
D[x^2, x]