Message Boards Message Boards

Solve a non-linear differential equations system?

Posted 7 years ago

Hey guys, I have some problems with this system of non-linear differential equations. This system is from the Winfree model from his "The Geometry of Biological Time". I'm new with mathematica and I couldn't find a solution yet. Here I post the code I wrote it.

eqns = Table[?[i]'[t] == RandomInteger[{0, 1}] - (0.65/10) (Cos[?[i][t]]) (Sin[?[i][t]]), {i,1, 10}]

NDSolve[{eqns, Table[?[i][0] == RandomReal[{0, 2}], {i, 1, 10}]}, {t, 10}]

It shows me this message error : "NDSolve::argm: NDSolve called with 2 arguments; 3 or more arguments are expected." Thanks to anyone who will read and help me with it!

POSTED BY: Gabriele Cinci
10 Replies
Posted 7 years ago

Thanks again Mariusz! It works perfectly unitl m=n=200 . I should be test for m=n=1000 . It shows me severals error messages! Another tip if you are not bored of me : If I want to evalute for example all the thetas ( I mean theta[1], theta[2], theta[3], ... , theta[n] ) for a particular value of indipendent variable t , let's say 500, how can I do it? And for only one theta?

Thanks again, hope I'm not annoying you!

@Gabriele Cinci, is it that hard to look up documentation on NDSolve and see how to get the values? First examples there show you need something like

?[2][500]/. sol

You can even see it from Plot examples of helpful replies by Mariusz. So what are you doing to learn? It seems like you just keep asking questions without any effort to read though documentation.

Please look at the rules of the forum: http://wolfr.am/READ-1ST

Quoting:

Check Documentation for examples relevant to your issue. Do not bluntly solicit for help...

POSTED BY: Sam Carrettie

Method -> {"EquationSimplification" -> "Residual"} in NDSolve helps.

n = 300;
  m = 300;
  k = 0.65;
  eqns = Table[?[i]'[t] == RandomInteger[{0, 1}] - (k/n)*Sum[(1 + Cos[?[j][t]])*Sin[?[i][t]], {j, 1, n}], {i, 1, m}];