Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
8 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Find subset of strings with hamming weight n?

Posted 7 years ago

I am new to the language, I'm sure this question will sound very easy to most of you!

I would like to have a program which takes a set of strings and returns the subset of those strings with hamming weight n. I tried to do it like this:

Spaceweight[dim2_, n] := Module[{listi, weight, listinew},
  listinew = {};
  listi = SpaceF[dim2];
  For[cc = 1 <= Length[listi], cc++,
   If[DigitCount[listi, 2, 1] = n, listinew = Append[listinew, listi]];
   Return[listinew]];
  ]

but it doesn't even pretend to work. How would you go about doing this?

Thanks, Mary

POSTED BY: Mary Shepard
8 Replies

Mary,

What was the correct interpretation of your problem? Are your hamming strings lists of binary digits or character strings? Curious as to which approach you are using...

POSTED BY: Neil Singer
Posted 7 years ago

The correct interpretation was

SelectHamming

I am very grateful for your help, I didn't think of simply counting the 1's, I was stuck trying to make it work with the HammingDistance since that is what I found when looking for "hamming weight". The bulk of the workaround (generating a list of 0's of length 2^(2^n) and calculating the hamming distance to that) meant that I ran out of memory already with functions on 6 variables (strings of length 32) Beginners mistake!

I am working on bent functions, (maximally nonlinear boolean functions) and it gets unwieldy pretty fast. I narrowed down the list where interesting functions lived with a little program called spaceF, and I needed to feed subsets of that space with hamming weight n into another program.

Mary

Mary,

I think the confusion is that Mathematica "strings" involve text strings as Sander demonstrated. I believe that your "strings" are lists of binary digits (and not Mathematica strings). If this is correct, This should work for you: