Message Boards Message Boards

Use SPI protocol with Arduino & ADC?

Posted 7 years ago

Hi, I'm interested in how I use SPI protocol. In Mathematics documentation has information that might somehow use the SPI library in Arduino. I have an Arduino Uno, and I want to connect ADC such as MAX 6675, with SPI protocol. MAX 6675 is the ADC for temperature measurement using SPI protocol for sharing information, and there are several skeches to gather information from it.

I can not imagine how.

I am interested in whether someone has sample code to work with SPI protocol.

POSTED BY: Bohdan Romanchuk
5 Replies
Posted 3 years ago

Does this documentation will be working for spi standard with PIC32 mcu?

POSTED BY: Jane Mole

Hi Ian.

I have purchased for my experiments board EVAL-AD7177-2. It has a AD7177-2 and voltage reference ADR445 and all that is needed for the work.

I'm a beginner in digital electronics and not sure what it was doing well. I read the datasheet for AD7177-2 and to Arduino and it looks as if I combine everything as shown in the picture.

Datasheet on the Arduino, says that you need to use a PIN 10-13 they are for SPI. I use the same pin?

What do I do next after skech will fill in Arduino?

#include <SPI.h>
#define ADCMODE 0x01
#define CONTINUOUS_READ 0x8000
#define DATA 0x04
#define READ (0 << 6)
#define WRITE (1 << 6)
void setup(){
    SPI.begin();
    //setup the device for continuous reading
    // take the SS pin low to select the chip:
    digitalWrite(10, LOW);
    //send a write command to set the ADC into continuous read mode
    //need to write this mode to the ADCMODE register
    SPI.transfer(WRITE | ADCMODE);
    SPI.transfer(CONTINUOUS_READ);
    // take the SS pin high to de-select the chip:
    digitalWrite(10, HIGH);
}
void loop(){
    //select the device for reading
    digitalWrite(10, LOW);
    //transfer the 4 bytes
    uint8_t buffer[4] = {0};
    //read from the DATA register
    SPI.transfer(READ | DATA);