|
2 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Solve a simple equation with Reduce[ ]?

Posted 7 years ago

Hi! I have just started trying out Mathematica and I thought I’d try to solve a simple equation but for some reason I get no solution, the computation appears to get stuck or something.

First I define a function like this:

F[omega_, theta_, r_] := -2*omega - 
  2*ArcTan[((r*Sin[omega - theta])) ? ((1 - r*Cos[omega - theta]))] - 
  2*ArcTan[((r*Sin[omega + theta])) ? ((1 - r*Cos[omega + theta]))]

Seems to work fine.

Then I try to set it equal to a constant, and solve for theta given values for r and omega, I also limit theta to a certain range. I also indicate that I am only interested in real values. At least that is what I think I do with the following expression

Reduce[F[Pi/4, theta, .99] == Pi/4  && theta > 0.001*Pi && theta < 0.999*Pi, theta, Reals]

Obviously I am doing something wrong! Does anyone have any hints or suggestions to help a total beginner? Thanks in advance!

POSTED BY: Mattias A
2 Replies
Posted 7 years ago

While the " ? " you have in your expression looks like division, it looks "funny" and not like the usual "/". It is not uncommon for new users to get hit with a special character like that and I sometimes say "You just got fonted."

Next, the forum posting software also seems to sometimes interpret * as an indication to delete the * and switch to italic font. In fact while I was typing this paragraph I saw that it ate my * and I had to go back and insert a \ in front of each of those so that you could see those *. When anyone tries to copy and paste from the forum to a notebook can then sometimes run words together and cause all kinds of problems. I had exactly that problem trying to scrape your code into my notebook and couldn't decide whether you had thought you could run variables together and have it work. Then I noticed the slight italic display of your code. So I just got fonted.