Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
4 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Why is this integral different when the variable is substituted?

In Mathematica, typing

Integrate[Abs[-0.7 - y]*(1 - Abs[y]), {y, -1, 1}]

yields 0.709, but typing

Integrate[Abs[x - y]*(1 - Abs[y]), {y, -1, 1}] /. x -> -0.7

yields 1/3. I am not experienced with Mathematica but I was hoping someone would be able to explain to me why these give different answers.

POSTED BY: Alexander Dunlap
6 Replies

Yes I noticed that the symbolic expression was wrong, but I wanted to send a more clear-cut test-case. :)

See my updated reply above, I submitted it as product feedback...

POSTED BY: Sander Huisman