|
6 Replies
|
16 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to learn Mathematica?

Posted 11 years ago
I am new to Mathematica. Please help me to learn Mathematica. My question is where I get the keywords and functions and example programs to learn.
6 Replies
Solve a problem with Mathematica you already solved without Mathematica.

Read at least one book of Roman Maeder: still very good: Programming in Mathematica

Look into the Standard Add-On Packages Mathematica distributes by default.

Read the Mathematica Journal on the Web.

Do not think you learn mathematics if you learn Mathematica.
Do not think you learn graphics design if you learn Mathematica.
<snip ... >

Even simpler - read the Wolfram blog, it contains cute program snippets.

Try to reimplement a standard built-in command and compare their work with your work ...

Ask questions, do not convert it into a bureaucratic job to know all commands and options in advance - you never will.
POSTED BY: Udo Krause
As a starting point, I recommend the "Hands-on Start to Mathematica" tutorial screencast series. This is one of our most popular tutorials to learn the basics of Mathematica, and will help you create your first notebook, perform calculations, create visualizations and make them interactive, and work with data.

-Kathy
Posted 11 years ago
Okay, so, let's go for the basic/general starting points from Wolfram here (since nobody else bothered):

http://www.wolfram.com/support/learn/

http://reference.wolfram.com/mathematica/guide/Mathematica.html

http://support.wolfram.com/kb/

Or, if you're in Mathematica (I'm referencing Mathematica 9, so YMMV), go to the Help menu and select: Documentation Center, Virtual Book or Function Navigator. All of these will give inline equivalents to many of the resources above. Though the web site has some additional tutorials, how-to's etc. So, take a look there as well.

Hope that all helps!
~MG
POSTED BY: Michael Gmirkin