|
3 Replies
|
7 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] Process very large FASTQ files?

Hi,

I apologize in advance if this is a very basic question. I have a lot of experience with other languages (mostly a Python user nowadays), but I have decided to give a try to the Wolfram Language as it is, in my view, clearly superior as a programming language.

I am trying to do a very basic operation: read a FASTQ file. A very big one. The problem is that the only operation that I have found (Import) tries to read the whole file to memory. This does not work.

The alternative that I used was to write a parser myself that returns record by record, but that is not a long term solution, I would like to use Mathematica's internal FASTQ parser and not my own.

Any suggestion on how to read a very big file using the provided FASTQ parser (say record by record)?

Again, I suspect the solution is trivial. Apologies for the simple question, I really did try to find answers elsewhere.

Thanks

POSTED BY: Tiago Antao
3 Replies

There are two very nice features to this solution that I would like to point out.

First, by using an Association (the symbol dataset in the code) and AssociateTo, the size of the result can grow incrementally with no performance penalty for copying data, which would have been the case using List and AppendTo.

Second, the header for each sequence is retained as the Key for each sequence Association in dataset, a very economic tactic.

POSTED BY: Robert Nachbar

Amazing answer, thanks. That brings up the more general question on how to process big files, but I will open a separate discussion topic about it.

POSTED BY: Tiago Antao

The only way I can think to use the built-in "FASTQ" importer chunk by chunk is to read in one entry as a string and then feed it to ImportString. Something like this works

ClearAll@getFASTQRecord
getFASTQRecord[stream_InputStream,elem_:"Sequence"]:=Module[
    {record},
    record = ReadList[stream,String,4];