Message Boards Message Boards

[WSC17] Using Machine Learning to Identify Road Signs

Posted 7 years ago

Over the past two weeks, I have been a student at the Wolfram Summer High School, where I have worked on a project called “Using Machine Learning to Identify Road Signs.” The result of the project is a microsite that uses Wolfram's ImageIdentify neural network to identify road signs in user-taken pictures.

Creating the Training Data

In order to simulate an image of a road sign taken by a user, I took a set of background images from Flickr and images of each of the 6 road signs I was classifying, and overlaid the signs on different background images at various angles and

ServiceConnect["Flickr"]
Normal[ServiceExecute["Flickr", "ImportImage", {"Keys" -> #, "ImageSize" -> "Large"}] & /@ IDs]

Because the image of the road sign will not always be directly facing the camera and in the center of the image, I then used ImagePerspectiveTransform to rotate and tilt the image. This was done in order to compensate for the angles that the road signs would be at in the images take by users. The resulting signs were then overlaid on the backgrounds at randomly-generated positions on the image. In total, there are 9000 examples in the training set.

overlay[sign_Image, background_Image, iterations_Integer] := 
 Flatten[Table[
   Join[{ImageCompose[ImageCrop[background, {224, 224}], 
      ImagePerspectiveTransformation[
       ImageResize[sign, RandomReal[{25, 100}]], 
       IdentityMatrix[2] + RandomReal[{-.2, .2}, {2, 2}], 
       DataRange -> Full], {RandomReal[{40, 100}], 
       RandomReal[{70, 100}]}], 
     ColorConvert[
      ImageCompose[ImageCrop[background, {224, 224}], 
       ImagePerspectiveTransformation[
        ImageResize[sign, RandomReal[{25, 100}]], 
        IdentityMatrix[2] + RandomReal[{-.2, .2}, {2, 2}], 
        DataRange -> Full], {RandomReal[{40, 100}], 
        RandomReal[{70, 100}]}], "Grayscale"]}], iterations]]