|
7 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] Use imported data for calculations?

Posted 7 years ago

I am just getting started using Mathematica. I have a code I developed in Matlab, but I realize now that Matlab does not calculate Macdonald functions of imaginary order. So, here I am with Mathematica. I have a *.csv file with numeric data array. I figured out how to read in array, but cannot find anything to instruct me how to extract element-wise values that I can use in computations. The convention of "{{ }}", or "[{ }]", or "[[ ]]" is not explained in any of the documentation, and no combination I try works. I am trying to extract, for instance, element at position [2,3] of the array to perform a calculation. The output I get is taking the entire array and performing the calculation on all elements. How do I get the calculation on the single element I want?

Dwight

POSTED BY: Dwight Swett
7 Replies

I had a couple typo's in my response. But my question remains: Why does this script not work? frq1 = 50.0 10^6; frq2 = 1000.0 10^6; Nfrq = 10; frq = Table[0, {Nfrq}]; for[nf = 1, nf <= Nfrq + 1, nf++, frq[[nf]] = frq1 + (nf - 1) (frq2 - frq1)/Nfrq; ];

The output keeps all zeroes for frq, except frq[2] which gives the correct calculation: {0, 1.45*10^8, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0}

Dwight

Dwight, the For command must use uppercase F. Secondly, the nf<=Nfrq+1 yields a value of 11 but frg has a maximum of 10 elements. This requires nf<Nfrq + 1 or nf,<=Nfrq. Hope this helps. Regards, -Ed

POSTED BY: Ed Forrester

Thanks Ed very much. I just caught those too and it works now. I am just recovering from stomach flu so probably missing on several cylinders.

Dwight