|
7 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] Dynamic drop/impact simulation of a rigid bar

Posted 7 years ago

HI All, I am new to SM and I am trying to extend the solution of a two-dimensional, textbook dynamics problem. It is a rigid bar initially at some angle and dropped some distance above the ground.

The bar falls due to gravity and one end contacts the ground. There is a rebound of that point and an angular velocity is also imparted to the bar. As the bar continues to rotate, the other end of the bar will contact the ground, rebound and there will again be a change in the angular velocity, etc.

I have worked through the bouncing ball example problems etc. I have built a model using a bodybox as the bar. I have been trying to use the elastogap component to model the contacts with the ground. I have been using a revolute component and a prismatic component to interface with the elastogap component.

The issue I am having is, when I add a similar set of components to the other end of the, the problem won't solve. I suspect the problems is over-constrained at that point. So question is how to adjust the components to get both ends making contact and the problem will solve? Also, in general, is there an easier way than the path I have started down?

Thanks in advance George

POSTED BY: George Thiel
7 Replies

George,

I wish I could say that "I figured the preferences setting from first principles and that I can't believe how stupid you were not to know that", however, actually I had the same problem you had with an over constrained loop. I got the information from the guys in Sweden!

That was a hard one to figure out. I also had to spend time trying out models as you are doing and figure it out. Contact me at Neils at my domain in the profile if you want to talk about some strategies on modeling.

Regards

POSTED BY: Neil Singer
Posted 7 years ago

hi Neil