Message Boards Message Boards

My Robots and Mathematica

Posted 7 years ago

Hi there, (Sharing an idea)

I am a hobbyist user of Mathematica. I am using it to control my three robot systems. Firstly there is Jeeves. It is a modified Meccano G15 KS. The Meccano control system has been removed and replaced with another control system (EZ-Robot). This new controller and its PC based control software is capable of starting an external program. In my case that external program is Mathematica. The sensors on the robot read in data and pass these data onto the PC based control software which then fires up Mathematica which in turn carries out some computation and passes a result back to the PC based control software. Data is stored in files. Using this set up means there can be latency. Sometimes quite a bit. For me this is not a problem as the robot is mainly used to test algorithms. Waiting a minute for a result is not an issue. Modified Meccano G15 KS

This robot can read text from a sheet of paper or screen and then repeat what it has seen. It can also read text and evaluate it. For example given the question, “What is the capital of England” the robot will reply “London”. It can recognise objects in an image(potentially thousands). By reading in text similar to the following “AABBCCD”, it will play sounds relating to the musical notes. All this is made possible because of Mathematica. As stated above I use this robot for algorithm testing. In this case Mathematica is used indirectly.

My second robot is a small 16 DOF humanoid robot. This robot is controlled by a 24 channel Pololu Maestro servo controller.
Modified EZ-Robot Rear of modified EZ