Message Boards Message Boards

[?] Put a nicely formatted label in front of the sliders in a Manipulate?

Hi, I am new to the wolfram way of doing things. I've been messing around with it for about a week with the online version before getting angry with the lack of keyboard shortcuts and formatting options and moving to the desktop version a couple days ago. Anyway I'm a chemist and looking to start building interactive modules/tutorials for my students. Maybe even full out course note packs built here (hence the need for all the formatting options without hassle).

Anyway, I decided to start with the supposedly trivial problem of plotting an acid dissociation plot for some arbitrary diprotic acid, H2A <=> HA- <=> A2- having dissociation constants of pK1 and pK2. The Y-axis is the fraction (0-1) of a given species present, and the X-axis is pH (0 to 14) - I haven't tried to battle with labeling the axes yet. a0, a1, a2 are the fractions of H2A, HA-, and A2- present at a given pH. Please excuse the lack of elegance in my code - also I know uppercase is usually reserved for built-in functions, but soon I'll need k and K for expressions and want to keep the standard definitions so that my students can maybe follow along.

So we have for some initial definitions of variables and equations:

h := 10^-pH
n := 2
K1 := 10^-pK1
K2 := 10^-pK2
d := h^n + K1*h^(n - 1) + K1*K2
a0 := h^n/d
a1 := K1*h^(n - 1)/d
a2 := K1*K2/d

where h is the concentration of H+ (10^-pH), K1 and K2 are the equilibrium constants for the two dissociations, d is a denominator term, n is the number of protons in the acid (eventually I will be looking at generalizing this more to polyprotic acids)

Anyway, if I use the following code to continue on, I get a pair of sliders nicely labeled which can manipulate pK1 and pK2, but the plot is completely frozen.

Manipulate[
 Plot[{a0, a1, a2}, {pH, 0, 14}, PlotLegends -> "Expressions"], 
    {{pK1, pK1, "pK1: "}, 0, pK2, 0.05, Appearance -> "Labeled"},