Message Boards Message Boards

What's the difference between plotting and solving?

Posted 7 years ago

Hello community,

this is something that's been bugging me for a long time, I simply don't get it: Why can Mathematica plot some functions without any problem, but not numerically solve an equation containing this function? I mean, I can see that Mathematica obviously calculated the values for plotting. Now why can't NSolve just use these values, compare them to the value I want to solve for (e.g., 0) and then tell me for which x the function f(x) is closest to 0? I had to build my own functions doing exactly that, and that's cumbersome and very prone to errors since I'm not a programmer.

Any insight provided to me about this issue is appreciated!

6 Replies
Posted 7 years ago

In this Stackexchange answer, Adam Strzebonski showed a way to get complex roots from System`TRootsDump`GuessRoots[f, {a, b}, False], where f is a pure function. For real roots one can use System`TRootsDump`GuessRealRoots[f, {a, b}]. These use ContourPlot and Plot respectively to approximate the roots. The results can be polished with FindRoot.

It's not clear to me how they plug into the high-level solvers.

POSTED BY: Updating Name

Ted Ersek's package RootSearch fills in quite nicely for the missing built-in functionality.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni

Yes, I have never understood why Ted's RootSearch code has not been made part of regular Mathematica! In my experience it works very well, finding multiple roots - crossings and zeros, and even though it's specialized to searching along a line this is one of the most common applications and IS missing functionality. Also, I don't understand why FindRoot, when given a domain doesn't stay within the domain.

Another reason is that they use different algorithms and sometimes domains (Complexes, Reals).

For a Plot-like solver for the real roots of a smooth function over an interval, consider this:

{x -> #} & /@ Reap[