Message Boards Message Boards

Improve the accuracy of calculations of a quadratic cosine?

Posted 6 years ago
POSTED BY: Aleksey Belyanin
9 Replies

This is Not the answer for Yours question only another forumla for Quadratic cosine:

HoldForm[ArcSin[Cos[x]]/ArcCos[Abs[Sin[Abs[x]]]] ==
  HeavisideTheta[x] + 2 Sum[(-1)^k*HeavisideTheta[\[Pi]/2 - k \[Pi] + x], {k, 1,  Infinity}] ==
  -1 + (-1)^Floor[1/2 + x/\[Pi]] + HeavisideTheta[x]] // TraditionalForm

$$\frac{\sin ^{-1}(\cos (x))}{\cos ^{-1}(\left| \sin (\left| x\right| )\right| )}=\theta (x)+2 \sum _{k=1}^{\infty } (-1)^k \theta \left(\frac{\pi }{2}-k \pi +x\right)=-1+(-1)^{\left\lfloor \frac{1}{2}+\frac{x}{\pi }\right\rfloor }+\theta (x)$$

Regards,Mariusz

POSTED BY: Mariusz Iwaniuk

Aleksey,

I was able to understand the Russian post (before it was removed -- sorry - -I forgot about the rules). Many of the issues you raised are philosophical so I am not qualified to give you an opinion. I am also an engineer and not a pure mathematician. That being said, I think that the limit calculation proves that the function is not continuous and does not connect with a vertical line. The value at Pi/2 is undefined because it depends on the direction from which you approach Pi/2. Michael's plot with the Exclusions is the correct way to handle this plot as far as I know. I believe that you should exclude that point and the plot should not be connected with a line. Again, this is my opinion and you can ask a mathematician who would know more about the issues you raise. I hope this helps.

Regards,

Neil

POSTED BY: Neil Singer

https://habrahabr.ru/post/343228/

red line is True or false?

red vertical line is True or false?

(ArcSin[Cos[x]]+ArcCos[Abs[Sin[x]]]-x)/(ArcSin[Cos[x]]-ArcCos[Abs[Sin[x]]]-x)

kvantpolya

in fact, here the horizontal line is the same vertical line in the previous graph How to calculate the length of this horizontal section? This can be very important

Aleksey,