Message Boards Message Boards

Play Canon with Mathematica

Posted 6 years ago

I'm a Mathematica novice, so i think there is a lot of space to improve the code.

Here is Youtube Link.Hopefully you like it.

First I use the Bach's manuscript as the music score, but the output sound is chaos around the middle part.This score fit to play with the instrument, obviously not Mathematica. Bach's manuscript

After posting this awful version to my Weibo, my friend told me there is a Canon played by Matlab, it's so amazing, the most important its score suits for playing with software, so i decided to translate this score from Matlab to Mathematica.

Matlab code

There are 3 parts in Matlab code.

1.First, tell the computer how to make certain sounds.

There is a part of the code in Matlab (I'm a Chinese student, hopefully my poor English didn't confuse you. I will attach some concepts' wikilink, sorry about that)

% 1/4 notes
do0f = mod4.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(21)*f0*t4);
re0f = mod4.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(22)*f0*t4);
mi0f = mod4.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(23)*f0*t4);
% 1/8 notes
fa0e = mod8.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(1)*f0*t8);
so0e = mod8.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(2)*f0*t8);
la0e = mod8.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(3)*f0*t8);
% 1/16 notes
fa0s = mod16.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(1)*f0*t16);
so0s = mod16.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(2)*f0*t16);
la0s = mod16.*cos(2*pi*ScaleTable(3)*f0*t16);

For clear to see, I just pick few notes information

i.$\frac{1}{4} $,$\frac{1}{8} $,$\frac{1}{16} $means [the relative duration of a note][4](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Note_value), the duration of Quarter note is twice that of Eighth note, the duration of 8th note is twice that of 16th note. In the Matlab code, the duration depends on $t4,t8, or\space t16$

ii.Obviously, "do0f" means the note's tone. If you plot the the curve of middle A, it will be like that Middle A

Middle A's frequency "f" is 440Hz. In the Matlab code, the frequency depends on "$ScaleTable(\space)\times f0$"