Message Boards Message Boards

Building & Autogenerating Websites with the Wolfram Cloud

Posted 6 years ago

So this is a derivative of a few blog posts I wrote a few weeks ago, which you can find here and here, but I'm hoping it will show why I feel the ability to make subdomains in the wolfram cloud would be such a killer feature.

I am not a web programmer by trade. I am not even a programmer by trade. But when I wanted a website for my blog posts and my packages the Wolfram Cloud was the obvious choice.

Making Websites with Pelican and Mathematica

My first brush at this was a system (which I still use) for making static web pages from notebooks that used pelican a python-based website builder.

That system basically has three parts:

1. Notebook to markdown converter
  2. python link to drive pelican
  3. web site cloud deployer

We'll walk through parts 1 and 3, since they'll come up again

Notebook to Markdown Converter

This is a fun little utility I use all the time. The basic idea was to take a NotebookObject and export it to an appropriate Markdown layout. There are tons of these laying around out there (mostly on StackExchange), but it's really a very simple process.

The export process has ~3 steps:

Path information extraction

To include things like images it is first necessary to extract an appropriate path for exporting and relative paths. This basically just means taking the NotebookDirectory and looking for a standard directory structure in its local area on the disk.

In my case I look for a parent directory named "content" and, if I find it, dump images in a subfolder of it called "img"

This info will propagate through the entire export process.

Recursive Cell/Box converter

Next I defined a largely comprehensive set of export formats for the different Cell and Box structures one finds in notebooks. This doesn't support everything, but it supports all of the standard Markdown types and a collection of non-standard things.