Message Boards Message Boards

Meal Planning in the Wolfram Language

Posted 6 years ago

enter image description here

The Problem

As a software developer, I've always loved the challenge of taking an aspect of life and trying to streamline it with code. There are so many things we do day-to-day that can be helped by some code to "grease the wheels".

Take meal planning, for example. There are a variety of tasks here: Thinking of meal ideas, aggregating the list of ingredients, checking what ingredients you already have to produce a final shopping list, grocery shopping, and then eventually making those meals, at which point one typically needs the recipes handy.

When I do the above things by hand, I find them cumbersome. First of all, as I'm sitting there with pen and paper, I struggle to conjure up meal ideas. Looking through recipe books (etc) can be mildly helpful, but it's still slow going. Once I have some recipes picked out, I find it tedious aggregating the ingredients -- it all feels like something that could be done automatically, so why am I doing it by hand? When grocery shopping, I feel disorganized. It's hard to mentally sort the grocery list into where things are in the store, so I will often miss an item or two and have to retrace my steps to get them. Or, I will have forgotten what isle things are in, so I wander around aimlessly. It's all so inefficient! And finally, when I make the recipes, I find it unfortunate that I have to go find a recipe book and re-find what page the recipe is on.

Fortunately, it's not that hard to solve all of the above things with some code, and the Wolfram Language is ideal for these sorts of things.

Choosing Meals