Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] How to build a function? (as it is understood by a programmer)

Posted 6 years ago

I am a beginner. I keep running into the same problem over and over. Please, consider this code:

P[N_Integer, p_] = BinomialDistribution[N,p];
Y[D_] = Expectation[x, x\[Distributed]P[D,0.5]];
DiscretePlot[Y[x], {x, 0, 20}, ExtentSize -> 0.8]

All I need is to plot expected value of BinomialDistribution[x,0.5] where x is in [0,20] range. But because the way symbolic substitution works -- this code fails (because I used x as parameter in both DiscretePlot invocation and Y definition).

How should I rewrite this code in such way that in DiscretePlot I don't need to care about parameter names used by Y (or any other symbols/definitions it may depends on)? Should I use CompileFunction?

Thank you.

POSTED BY: Michael Kilburn
6 Replies

One way to avoid the scope-capture issue is to hide the dummy variable. Could use Module for this.

pDist[n_Integer, p_] = BinomialDistribution[n, p];
y[d_] = Module[{x}, Expectation[x, x \[Distributed] pDist[d, 0.5]]];

Does not look so pretty, but it effectively gets the desired the scoping.

y[t]

(* Out[377]= Expectation[x$49573, x$49573 \[Distributed] pDist[t, 0.5]] *)
POSTED BY: Daniel Lichtblau

Thank you, Daniel. It seems that this is the only way -- I can't find any other...

Unscoped x from Expectation interferes with DiscretePlot's x. Don't have experience with Expectation and friends so don't know what is the best practice but you can either scope x writing:

Y[D_] = Module[{x}, Expectation[x, x \[Distributed] P[D, 0.5]]]

or use formal variables like so:

Y[D_] = Expectation[\[FormalX], \[FormalX] \[Distributed] P[D, 0.5]];

Additinaly, try to avoid single capital letters, D and N are built in symbols. Lookup the difference between = and := too. Does not matter here but that is a general note.

Summing up:

ClearAll[P, Y];