Message Boards Message Boards

Create Snapchat Filters in Wolfram Language using Trained Neural Networks

GROUPS:

Hello everyone,

Frequently, we refer to the phrase "10 lines of code" in our group. Considering 1 line to be approximately 140-150 characters, I challenged myself to code something that is useful in some 1500 characters. Around the same time, when I was thinking what can be done, I was video chatting with my friend, where just to be silly, I started playing with the filters on Messenger, and started explaining what it was doing behind the scenes. After a discussion on facial landmark detection, I was given a suggestion to code it up. So that completed my challenge: Can I code something in maximum 10 lines of code that would mimic snap chat filters? Let's find out in this post. We start with the famous flower-crown or in general crown type filters

Step 1: Find the face

Finding Faces is pretty easy in Wolfram Language using the FindFaces function. You need to trim the image to just extract the face from the entire image. This is because we want to feed just the face to the second step where we want to detect facial features. Make sure to keep the dimensions of the face bounding box stored, because we need to account for this when we are finally placing the filter.

face = (ImageTrim[img, #] & /@ FindFaces[img])[[1]];
   facedim = Flatten[FindFaces[img], 1];

Step 2: Find Facial Features

Facial keypoints can be detected using a trained NetModel. This net predicts the locations of 68 2D keypoints (17 for face contour, 10 for eyebrows, 9 for nose, 12 for eyes, 20 for mouth) from a facial image.

netevaluation[img_] := Block[
  {heatmaps, posFlattened, posMat},
  heatmaps = 
   NetModel["2D Face Alignment Net Trained on 300W Large Pose Data"][
    img];
  posFlattened = 
   Map[First@Ordering[#, -1] &, Flatten[heatmaps, {{1}, {2, 3}}]];
  posMat = QuotientRemainder[posFlattened - 1, 64] + 1;
  1/64.*Map[{#[[2]], 64 - #[[1]] + 1} - 0.5 &, posMat]
  ]