Message Boards Message Boards

Call Mathematica from matlab script?

Posted 6 years ago

I have a Matlab script that generates data and I want to find the numerical derivative of the data. I want to call mathematica function D[] to do the numerical derivative within my matlab script. Is there a way to call the D[] from matlab. Please note that I am new to mathematica and started using it today

POSTED BY: mohamed alzenad
7 Replies

For completeness we should mention that you can use MATLAB's dos command to call any program. And there is WolframScript:

>> cd('C:\Program Files (x86)\Wolfram Research\WolframScript\')
>> [status,cmdout]=dos('wolframscript.exe -code "N[D[Sin[x],x]/.x->Pi]"')

status =

cmdout =

POSTED BY: Gustavo Delfino

I have a question about MatLink, It seems that MatLink is good for calling matlab script from within mathematica script, however, I want to call a mathematica script from within matlab. Is this possible?

No, this is not possible with MATLink. MATLink is strictly for the reverse.

There are other software packages that claim to make this possible, but I have never used them and I cannot tell you how well they work. Here's one example: https://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/6044-mathematica-symbolic-toolbox-for-matlab-version-2-0 Before you try these, make sure that MATLAB really cannot do what you want on its own, and that Mathematica can. As Michael said, D is for symbolic differentiation, and I cannot see how calling it can be useful from MATLAB: MATLAB doesn't usually operate with symbolic data. (And if you do have the MATLAB symbolic toolbox, then it can already do symbolic differentiation anyway.)

POSTED BY: Szabolcs Horvát

I do not know of a way to call Mathematica from MATLAB.

POSTED BY: Michael Rogers