|
6 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Integral upper limit a function

Posted 11 years ago
I am new to Mathematica and am having trouble performing a general multiple integral.

My issue is that the upper limit of the first of a triple integral is a function of the next integration variable.

Mathmatical 9 gives several error messages. 

First, it says that it can't tell if the limit function is real or not. Second, it gives partial answer as a conditional with half a page of real and imaginary constraints.

I cannot deternine how to tell Mathematica that all values and functions are real.

I have checked the syntax multiple times, which is no guarantee of not missing something.

Simple numerical limits show that the integral is not transcendental and gives real values.

I have looked at a half dozen sources to determine how to trouble shoot the integral and how to insert assumptions, but nothing seems to fix the issue.

Any pointers would be welcome.
POSTED BY: Luther Nayhm
6 Replies
Posted 11 years ago
I have played around with your approach. It appears that while it works, there are other integrals in the model that cannot be solved symbolically. These occur in the last integrals over the "w" function. I may be able to do this numerically.

On the other hand, your rule and replacement approach will allow me to develop a power series expansion. The "d" in the expression is a function of z1 and z2. I can pull it out of the Sqrt function, which leaves me with 1/Sqrt[1+a] where for most values, a<1 and the series converges. However, I need to actually replace the "a" in the power series by the complete expression and allow Mathematica to do the algebra for me. I can integrate these term by term with simple integrals. It is tedious until I learn how to use other capabilities within Mathematica.