Message Boards Message Boards

raspiSFV - Creating/Testing file hash codes

Trott files downloaded from http://extras.springer.com

Introduction

This is my attempt of a first tiny app ("Hello World!"). The main motivation behind the coding was to make me apply hands-on some of the contents learned from the superficial Introduction to Control Objects. I wanted to experience if the language is really(?) suitable for building a small software, think of the thousands of FREE primitive yet handy utilities which one can download from the internet like unfreez or file renamer. My 'program' is to compute file hash codes like "CRC-32" in a user-friendly manner, i.e. with a click of a button. The real question is how an experienced WL coder would program such an app with similar functionality and user interface. I am a beginner, let me share how far i got. I am a beginner, let me share how far i got. Note that I adopted the code formatting convention introduced by Boris.

Check files through SFV

Simple File Verification (SFV) is a file format for storing CRC32 checksums of files to verify the integrity of files. The following code imports the *.SFV-file from the HDD as text string, listing the lines which the text is made of. From these text lines, only the relevant lines are selected, i.e. lines which contain the file name and its file checksum (also called file hash code or file hash value). SFV files created by other SFV utilities may contain comments and other irrelevant text. A crc32 code consists of 8 hexadecimal chars, a SHA-512 code consists of 128 hex chars. The hex chars can be in upper or lower case, without difference in meaning.

rellines := Select[
   Import[sfvpath, {"Text", "Lines"}]
   , StringMatchQ[#
     , WordCharacter ~~ RegularExpression[".+\\s[[:xdigit:]]{8,128}"] ~~ EndOfLine] &
  ];