Message Boards Message Boards

[WSS18] Fast Analysis of Multivariate Drug QSAR Data in Mathematica

Posted 6 years ago

The medicinal value of drugs is optimized via Quantitative Structure-Activity Relationships, or QSAR. QSAR seeks to explain the variation in the biological activity of related molecules via variations in their structure and physicochemical properties. Synthesizing and testing new compounds is time-consuming and expensive, so the faster we can reach a mathematical model with predictive power, the better. Recently there have been rich discussions and analyses of which types of chemical descriptors best predict biochemical activity. As a chemistry PhD student, I have become interested in this topic and have used and built tools in the Wolfram Language to facilitate my analysis of multivariate drug data.

Data Normalization

It is often practical to store data via tables in Excel and import them into Mathematica. Then Mathematica automatically recognizes such tables as matrices (lists of lists, where the lists are row vectors). The following functions aid processing: To delete rows of zeros and nulls:

deleteZeroRows[m_]:=DeleteCases[m,{0..}|{Null..},1]

To delete columns of zeros and nulls:

deleteZeroColumns[m_]:=Block[{Global`s},
    Global`s=DeleteCases[Transpose[m],{0..}|{Null..},1]; 
    Transpose[Global`s]]

To normalize each element of a row vector to the element at a specific position:

ratioNormalize[list_,pos_:43]:=list/list[[pos]]

To normalize each element of a row vector by taking the natural log of that element plus a constant (added to make everything positive):

logNormalize[n_,c_]:=Log[n+c]

That last function proved useful for a data set with too large a spread of values to use the sigmoid function; I was able to make sure the results from regression modeling were similar before and after normalization.

Testing all variable sets of a given size to find out which set best describes the data