Message Boards Message Boards

Persistent kernel deployment on Raspberry Pi

Hi guys,

This is my first submission on the community so I hope I posted it in the right board.

I have been working on a raspberry pi device that needs to perform run a basic WL script at startup - load packages and call a couple of functions. The "issue" I'm having is that the kernel shuts down at the end of the script and I haven't been able to figure out a better solution to keep it running other than put an infinite loop at the bottom.

directory = "/My/directory/parentfolder/";
SetDirectory[directory];
<<package`;

startFunction[directory];

(* this will keep the evaluation running indefinitely *)

While[
    True,
    (Pause[10];function["heartbeat"])
]

This works but I don't think this is the smartest to do this - definitely not elegant. I am thinking that perhaps creating a super simple front end with wstp may be the way to go, but I have no experience whatsoever with that.

Any thought on this? I appreciate the help.

POSTED BY: Giovani Diniz
2 Replies
Anonymous User
Anonymous User
Posted 6 years ago

Are you saying that's in "init.m" ? (ie, ~/.Mathematica/Kernel/init.m) (if so, there are many examples of proper startup modifications for init.m for you to follow).

If not init.m ... If you start mathematica with a WL script it of course exits when done. (your running in batch mode intended to process many files consecutively).

ON THE OTHER HAND if your not (the above), the most usual problem is you have a bug in your script which causes the kernel to Quit[].

Remove the bug, and the kernel won't quit.

Yes many if not most script goofs and script bugs don't cause kernel quits, but some do

ON THE OTHER HAND if you wrote your own "Package" your loading with <<, and getting Quits[] that's another issue. Quits[] are more frequent for loading Packages (intently so). Your package syntax simply must be correct or the package does not load (which may cause a kernel quit as well).