Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
3 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Import a lot of images with Mathematica?

Posted 6 years ago

Hi, I am a beginner at image precessing in Mathematica, I want to know how to import a lot of images by using for loop.

POSTED BY: Rony Saha
3 Replies
Posted 6 years ago

Hi John I have another question that how could I used image adjust command for multiple images. I did something once for one image, I will show that one but can you please help me how to do samething for multiple images.

Attachments:
Posted 6 years ago

Thank you John. I will work with this, if I faced\ any problem I will again post.

Posted 6 years ago

You do not use a for loop for this. This is a functional programing language that works best with recursive built in high level functions. Mathematica has a built in For loop but that should be used only in situations where you are teaching For loops in a beginner level computer programming concepts class. For loops are part of a strictly procedural programming language while bulit in high level functions in Mathematica are the big advantage to using a functional programming language. The Function call will rewrite itself when it is evaluated so that it will return the result of the call in place. When there is no assignment and no suppressed output, Mathematica will return the results to the screen as output using some other built in function that is most likely to be useful for the type of data being returned to the screen. For example sending a sound file to the screen will return an interactive sound player automatically.

Map[Import, FileNames["images/*.jpg", NotebookDirectory[]]]

this can also be written as

Import/@FileNames["images/*.jpg", NotebookDirectory[]]

will return the images as a list of images in the standard list format separating the elements of the list with commas.

{,,,,}