Message Boards Message Boards

Folds in a sheet of paper / metal / cloth

Posted 11 years ago
I am an artist, drawing and working with 3d. Since long time, I am missing a method to form realistic folds and wrinkles into virtual sheets of paper, metal or cloth. I found some attempts within 3d-programs, but I never saw something that was not very limited or looked like rubber. Because it is so easy at reality, but so difficult at the computer, I think there is just little mathematical base.First of all: Could anybody tell me, what field of mathematics this is?

POSTED BY: Dietmar Klein
13 Replies
A video from Siggraph, definitely have a look:

Folding and Crumpling Adaptive Sheets, SIGGRAPH 2013
POSTED BY: Sander Huisman
Sander, this is a great find! I think it is exactly what is needed. Here is exact citation with abstract an image that can be found on the authors Berkeley website ( there is also full paper and source code download):
Rahul Narain, Tobias Pfaff, and James F. O'Brien. "Folding and Crumpling Adaptive Sheets". ACM Transactions on Graphics, 32(4):51:1–8, July 2013. Proceedings of ACM SIGGRAPH 2013, Anaheim.

We present a technique for simulating plastic deformation in sheets of thin materials, such as crumpled paper, dented metal, and wrinkled cloth. Our simulation uses a framework of adaptive mesh refinement to dynamically align mesh edges with folds and creases. This framework allows efficient modeling of sharp features and avoids bend locking that would be otherwise caused by stiff in-plane behavior. By using an explicit plastic embedding space we prevent remeshing from causing shape diffusion. We include several examples demonstrating that the resulting method realistically simulates the behavior of thin sheets as they fold and crumple.

POSTED BY: Vitaliy Kaurov
Posted 11 years ago