|
27 Replies
|
11 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Remote Kernel on Raspberry Pi

Posted 11 years ago
I am trying to connect to a remote Pi using the RDK. I guess there has to be a way to get the Mathematica kernel running on the Pi - without invoking the GUI frontend (i am running headless over SSH). But I am unable to figure out how to do that - has anybody already got that going? Any help is appreciated.

Arvind
27 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

I am not a rdp expert but I had similar problems trying to run rdp with smalltalk on a linux amazon box to a macintosh. I found VNC worked well. You may want to try vnc to your pi. But this is just a guess .

POSTED BY: Scott Sproule
Posted 8 years ago

I have a related question and wonder whether any of you could help me.

Using a Linux machine, I logged with a remote desktop service (rdp protocol) onto a Raspberry Pi 2. Everytime I try to start Mathematica with the User Interface the connection crashes. Has anybody experience on how to get that to work, or is that not supported?

The terminal option using Wolfram works well.

POSTED BY: Lucas We
Posted 9 years ago

I have this working reasonably well.

IN the remote kernel status setup a remote kernel with the following custom launch command. The hostname should be the hostname of he working ssh command outlined in the second comment below. Generally i set the number of kernels on rasp pi 2 to be 3.

ssh -x -f -l pi 1 wolfram -mathlink -linkmode Connect 4 -linkname \ '2' -subkernel -noinit

The numbers in the command above all have ` quotes around them and the 2 also has ' quotes around it.

It is important/necessary that you are able to remote ssh without a password for this to work. eg: ssh pi@mathterm.local where math term. local is avalid hostanme or ip addres. (to enable this look on the web for how to add rsa keys to the .ssh files).

LaunchKernels[] in a notebook should now launch local kernels + remote kernels.

POSTED BY: Scott Sproule