|
5 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Cross-correlation of two data sets

Posted 11 years ago
Hello all, I am very new to signal processing and my advisor has given me a job that I completely do not understand. I need to find the cross-correlation maximum between two spectrum data sets, each in the form of 2-D lists {{wavelength1 , intensity1} , {wavelength2 , intensity2}, etc.}. The wavelength steps are not the same between the two data sets, and for the first data set the wavelength steps change intermittently. 

The instructions I received were:
-Create a new file that contains an offset of -.01 microns -> .01 microns
-Fill in values in an array
-Apply offest for list #1, interpolate into list #2
-Calculate the Fourier Transform of the central maximum of the Cross-Correlation between list #1 and list #2. 

I have very little idea what my advisor is telling me to do. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
POSTED BY: John Ahlers
5 Replies
Please take a quick look at the documentation for Convolve:

reference.wolfram.com/mathematica/ref/Convolve.html

Convolve requires 4 arguments.  Additionally the examples show that it is meant to take symbolic functions, not numerical functions.

I don't want to complicate the math of this at all. But I should warn against using too many tools like interpolations if they are not needed. If you can resample the data set to keep it discrete and do a discrete convolution, I would recommend it instead of continuing down the path below.

Here's the definition of a convolution. I will use this with a couple of example InterpolationFunction expressions I've constructed.

f = Interpolation[Table[{x, Sin[x]}, {x, 0, 10, 0.1}]];
g = Interpolation[Table[{x, Cos[E^x]}, {x, 0, 10, 0.1}]];
"f" and "g" are only defined from x = 0 to 10, so this will change the range of the integration. In short the integral is (I'm mostly sure):
Integrate[f[x]*g[y - x], {x, y, - y + 10}]