Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
20 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Should Students Be Allowed to Use Mathematica on Tests?

Posted 11 years ago
Hi all,

Would love to get your thoughts on this...

In this Customer Story Professor Alain Carmasol encourages his students to use Mathematica on exams. He believes that making students complete calcualtions by hand no longer has any value in the classroom.

Do you agree?

-Emily
POSTED BY: Emily Suess
5 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Hello,

As a graduate student myself, I do see some benefits and it depends on the course level in my opinion.

However, should the toolbox be limited to Mathematica or should it be left to the student to use the tool of their choice and comfort?

My concern is the advantage that such approach gives to some students over others depending on their ability to use a specific computational tool. On the other hand, such advantage is usually echoed in the job search process ...

Very interesting discussion !

Saliou Telly

POSTED BY: SALIOU TELLY

I totally agree. Moreover, the authorization of Computer Algebra Systems (CAS) like Mathematica during exams would kick start initiatives like Computer-Based Maths of Conrad Wolfram. For example, this policy change has already happened in Victoria state, Australia. Does anybody know other places where CAS are officially allowed during exams?

POSTED BY: Pavlo Fesenko
For courses like Numeric Method or Finite Element Method, I would definitely go with having Mathematica in exams. On the other hand, for a course that really emphasizes on understanding the concepts and limited amount of hand work is necessary, a traditional exam sheet would be more suitable. 
POSTED BY: Shenghui Yang