|
|
4 Replies
|
6 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Yet another Wolfram/RPi spectrometer - this time with RaspiCam

Recently, I tried making a visible spectrometer using the Raspberry pi, the camera module and Mathematica.  Details are posted here, but here's a brief summary.  The spectrometer is built out of legos and a few components found around my house (and since I'm a Chemistry professor, diffraction gratings and cuvettes are really found around my house).

The light source (in the upper right hand corner) is a white RGB LED.  Immediate to the left is the sample compartment (which unfortunately is just a little too big for a standard sized cuvette).  Next comes a transmission diffraction grating which is a common supply in general physics classes.  I then use a 10x magnifying lens to condense the light onto a business card.  At the bottom right in the picture is the camera module (connected by the white ribbon to my Raspberry Pi and mounted using a hodge-podge of Legos).  The camera is pointed towards the business card.

Unlike my first version of a spectrometer, this version doesn't require any additional GPIO interfacing or MathLink programming; everything can be done within a typical Mathematica notebook without additional packages.  I acquire images using Import and then use ImageTake to grab just the region of interest.  Here are some example images of the empty spectrometer and with three samples: water, green food coloring and red food coloring.

In order to get spectra out of these images, I do 3 things:

1. Convert the images into data with ImageData and then average each of the rows
2. Convert the y axis into absorbance.
3. Calibrate the x axis by assuming that the RGB LED emits red, green and blue light at the expected wavelengths.