Message Boards Message Boards

2048 game - suggestions?

Hey all, I'm a student and am just starting to get the hang of Mathematica. I tried to make a Mathematica version of the game 2048. My program works now, so I thought I'd share. I'd love to hear if there are any better ways to do it, or any suggestions you have to make it better. 

I originally wanted to see the distribution of how many moves a random game would last. So, now you can use all the normal Mathematica tools to discover cool patterns in 2048.

Thanks, hope you enjoy!

Shift[list_]:=PadRight[Cases[list,Except[0]],4];
 Merge[list_]:=Flatten[list//.{x___,c_,c_,y___}->{x,{2*c},y}];
 SlideRow[list_]:=Shift[Merge[Shift[list]]];
 Slide[list_,l]:=Table[SlideRow[list[[j]]],{j,1,4}];
 Slide[list_,r]:=Table[Reverse[SlideRow[Reverse[list[[j]]]]],{j,1,4}];
 Slide[list_,u]:=Transpose[Table[SlideRow[Transpose[list][[j]]],{j,1,4}]];
 Slide[list_,d]:=Transpose[Table[Reverse[SlideRow[Reverse[Transpose[list][[j]]]]],{j,1,4}]];
 RandInsert[list_]:=ReplacePart[list,RandomChoice[Position[list,0]]->RandomChoice[{2,4}]]
  (*these functions slide each row in the given direction,combine like terms,and add one random number to an empty tile*)

Col[n_]:=Graphics[{Blend[{Yellow,Cyan,Purple,Red},((Log[n+1]/Log[2]))/11],Rectangle[]}];
Visual[list_]:=ImageCompose[GraphicsGrid[Table[Table[Col[list[[j,i]]],{i,1,4}],{j,1,4}]],GraphicsGrid[list,Frame->All]]
(*the tiles,with colors and numbers*)

Nex[list_,move_]:=If[FreeQ[list,0],ConstantArray[Infinity,{4,4}],RandInsert[Slide[list,move]]]
(*the update rule*)

(*the game itself.input from {u,d,l,r} to move*)
game=ConstantArray[0,{4,4}];Print[Dynamic[Visual[game]]];While[game!=ConstantArray[Infinity,{4,4}],game=Nex[game,Input[]]]