|
|
5 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:
GROUPS:

How to do second derivative implicit differentiation using Wolfram Alpha?

Posted 10 years ago

How do I perform second derivative implicit differentiation using Wolfram Alpha? I'm looking for results that will give me the step-by-step solutions as I'm a first year calculus student trying to figure things out.

I've tried all of the obvious queries that I can think of without getting the desired results. If I type just the equation in it will give the results I'm seeking but without the step-by-step solution since it is not the primary output for the query.

Thanks for any assistance.

Here's an example of the results I get from just entering the equation x^2 + xy = 5 using Wolfram Alpha input in Mathematica (w/desired result circled):

enter image description here

P.S. Cross posted to http://mathematica.stackexchange.com/questions/51705/second-derivative-implicit-differentiation-using-wolfram-alpha-input

POSTED BY: Gary White
5 Replies

Dear Gary,

there is a lot of notation in Mathematica which might be unfamiliar at first but is very powerful. Most of the symbols are really useful. If you type

? /. 

so a question mark in front of the symbol you don't know you get a lot of info on it. If you then click on the >> symbol you go to the help page. You can also do this by highlighting the symbol and then clicking, e.g. Fn+F1 on a Mac, and something similar on Windows.

/. 

means "replace all". The help page shows how to use it and lots of examples. The examples are interactive so you can try out what the command does. These pages are really useful.

In the example above (last post)

y'[x] + x y''[x] == y[x]/x  /. {y'[x] -> -2 - y[x]/x}

you can read the /. symbol as "such that". So use the equation such that the replacement rules are taken into consideration. So it basically just substitutes y'[x] by -2-y[x]/x.