Message Boards Message Boards

Getting LaTex output into a Mathematica text cell is not practical, right?

Before I spend more time browsing online exchanges for a way to integrate a LaTeX document into a Mathematica notebook, can someone please confirm that the solution does not exist? Just knowing there's no solution, would save time. Having searched without success, I think the only way to create a Mathematica notebook with text cells that have print-ready math expressions is to tediously build the notebook one expression at a time, even if I already have a nicely formatted LaTeX document with all the text and dozens of math expressions already coded. If there is an efficient way to do that, please point me to documentation. Thanks.

POSTED BY: Jay Gourley
4 Replies

Thank you for posting the .tex file. I am not an expert in this, but the file uses many libraries which add functionality that the WL doesn't recognize. It also uses tables to organize all the expressions. In generally, it is just too complex. It's not really reasonable to expect the WL to be able to ingest an entire document like this: it would have to have full LaTeX functionality on top of everything else, plus there are limits to the front end's typesetting and layout options.

You can typeset the individual expressions using something like this:

TraditionalForm[Interpreter["InactiveTeXExpression"]["TeX goes here"]]

Whether it is worth doing that expression by expression is up to you!

POSTED BY: Gareth Russell

Thanks, Gareth Russell. That's what I assumed at the outset. The confirmation helps.

I gather from Gareth Russell's post that, contrary to assumption, integrating a LaTeX document into a Mathematica notebook is possible. That's encouraging. Following are some details.