Message Boards Message Boards

Help using NDSolve for an orbital dynamics problem

Hi all,

I am new to Mathematica and I am trying to model an asymmetric momentum exchange tether in its orbit about the Earth. The tether initially starts as a symmetrical system and simply has the ability to alter the tether lengths to change the CoM and thus account for mass discrepancies causing the system to act asymmetrically.

The problem I am receiving is that I am passing three equations to NDsolve. NDsolve accepts the equations as differential equations, and despite providing both boundary and initial conditions to the solver NDsolve is not resulting in a valid list of rules or a dispatch table and thus cannot be used for further evaluation of parameters to plot. I have attached a copy of my most "up to date" model, please forgive me if it is something blaringly obvious, I have been staring at my screen for a considerable amount of time now.

If there is any other information you need please let me know.

POSTED BY: Jameel Cathcart
5 Replies

The third equation simplifies to

\[Theta]''[t] + \[Psi]''[t] == 0

as I said. The second equation is not a differential equation. The first equation contains the factor \[Theta]''[t] + \[Psi]''[t]: if we replace it with zero, also the first equation ceases to be a differential equation.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni

Right so none of the equations are actually differential equations??

Your assistance is most appreciated by the way so thank you!

The third equation is differential.

If I am not mistaken, your three equations eqn1 == 0, eqn2 == 0, eqn3 == 0 are rather strange. The third one is

\[Theta]''[t] + \[Psi]''[t] == 0

If you replace this into the first and second equation you get a system of two algebraic equations in the two variables R[t] and \[Psi][t], which would seem to imply that R[t] and \[Psi][t] are constants.