|
1 Reply
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Extracting Imported Mesh Data as List and Manipulating them

Posted 10 years ago

Hello, I am new to Mathematica and still in the trial phase and I am having a hard time achieving something I assume would be relatively simple to do in Mathematica:

What I want to do:

• a) Import a mesh from the file system then extract the data as a List.
  • b) Transform the data by applying a matrix transform to all {x,y,z} vector.
  • c) render a new mesh that results from the transformed data.

I found some examples of Import and a few other examples related to this so here is what I was able to do and what I could not do: - I am able to import a 3D file - I get a display of the file BUT I cannot extract {x,y,z} data from the file as list of vector coordinates. - I am able to perform matrices computation on list data I enter manually but then I cannot display the mash data on screen.

People familiar with OpenGL will recognize the above as basic steps of working with 3D models, I turned to Mathematica because it is supposed to provide a friendlier environment for 3D algebraic computations but I find myself struggling with the syntax, I think I need a bit of help or at least some pointers from people that have already done that.

POSTED BY: LV VS

I haven't worked very much with the new mesh functionality, so let me know if I've misunderstood your question.

(* Make a random Mesh to play with for this example*)
example = TriangulateMesh@DelaunayMesh[RandomReal[1, {50, 3}]]

(* Define a transformation matrix *)
myMat = {{1, 0, 0}, {2, 0, 1}, {0, 1, 0}};

(* Transform the mesh according to that matrix *)
TransformedRegion[example, myMat.{#1, #2, #3} &]

TransformedRegion can apparently take an arbitrary well defined function. So it's not just stuck with linear transforms.