12 Replies
|
4 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

FindMaximum failing

Posted 10 years ago

Hi all..

I am trying to find the maximum point for the following graph.. it is visually clear that it is around 1300..

I was wondering whats the command for it...

Is it FindMaximum [{Cp[[Delta]]}, {[Delta], 0, 1}]]? i tried this and it dint work ..

Any help would help..

Thanks in advance..

enter image description here

POSTED BY: ash ash
12 Replies
Posted 10 years ago

Sorry in the first hand. yes! i missed to paste the [Mu]m , i was only not sure with the command to be used. may be i should read the posting guidelines.. i am only learning mathematica. is there a rule that i cannot ask basic or east questions in this forum?

Posted 10 years ago

but thanks it helped. i was only asking if FindMaximum would work.. it worked when i wrote it after plot syntax.

Hello Ash Ash,

I am sorry if my response appeared to be rude to you. It was not my intention. Danny is correct that the probability of getting a response is increased if code can be cut-and-pasted from the post.

I believe that basic questions should be encouraged. However, if the poster makes an effort (to fix syntax, look for a working example in the documentation, and make sure that all variables which be defined are defined), that effort will be rewarded by learning.

POSTED BY: W. Craig Carter
Posted 10 years ago

Thanks..

I just have a follow up question..

What would be the command in case if delta is known.. for example, delta = 0.3 and I need to get the corresponding y axis value..

Hello Ash Ash, Perhaps I misunderstand your question. I am assuming that you are no longer interested in a maxima.

To find the value of an expression for a particular value of a parameter, you can use slash-dot with a rule:

expr = a Cos[ b x]

expr /. a -> 2

expr /. {a -> 2, x -> 3}

expr /. {a -> 2, b -> 3, x -> Pi}

More information can be found here: tutorial/ApplyingTransformationRules

Posted 10 years ago