Message Boards Message Boards

issues in executing a Mathematica v7 notebook in a v10 instance

Posted 9 years ago

Hello everybody, I need to execute a notebook generated by a colleague of mine with Mathematica v7 on my Mac where Mathematica v10 is installed.
Many errors are generated during code execution and I'm not successful in producing the desired output. I'm pretty new to Mathematica, but my expectations were to have full backward compatibility between "close" versions. Could you please suggest a path to progressively isolate errors and make it work? I've been told that probably in the meanwhile the syntax of few commands could be changed: where can I find release notes of the different versions to check it out? Any other suggestion from your side?
I really appreciate your help.
Marta Greselin

POSTED BY: Marta Greselin
3 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Indeed I let the export cell evaluation run for 2 hour with no output file created and execution still running. No errors were issued, so I think the export command is somehow in a loop. Marta

Posted 9 years ago

Hello, I did what you suggested and I'm now at this point. In the previous cell of the notebook three animation types are built and this is successfully evaluated (I only get a warning that says: "One of more dynamic objects are taking excessively long to finish evaluating. You may either disable further dynamic evaluations or continue waiting. Dynamic updating can be re-enabled using Dynamic Updating Enabled command in the evaluation menu", but I've just pressed the Continue button). Then I move on and I execute a cell which produces a plot of one animation and again it run successfully and I see the output just below which can be run within Mathematica and again everything is fine until now.