22 Replies
|
10 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

trascendental equations in Mathematica

Posted 9 years ago

Hi all,

my name is luca I am a physicist and I do research in a company in Germany. I am trying to get a solution with Mathematica to

Solve[x^a-a*Log[1-x]==c && 1/2<x<1&&0<a<1,x,Reals]

but I cannot get a solution. x is the variable, a and c are parameters. From "plot" I can tell there is one solution. Could anybody suggest the best way to get the root in this case? Solve, NSolve, Reduce and Root would generate the same Warning " This system cannot be solved with the methods available to ..."

Thanks a lot in advance

POSTED BY: Luca D.
22 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Sorry for one more post. c must be greater than 0.5^a - a*Log[0.5] so that 0.5 < x < 1. And rather than fixing a number of iterations, it is almost certainly better to have a minimum and maximum number of iterations along with a reasonable stopping rule. I was just being lazy with the example.

POSTED BY: Jim Baldwin
Posted 9 years ago

Now I remember. When a = 1, then c must be greater than 1.19315 to have 0.5 < x < 1. So while the numeric method provides real solutions for c > 1, some of those will result in x <= 0.5. A test could be added to check for the proper lower limit of c given a.

Posted 9 years ago

Ooops! Not sure where I got that c must be greater than 1.19315 as c must be greater than or equal to 1. However, the numerical method described above does give a real result when a is between 0 and 1 and c is greater than zero.

Let's set a=1/2, because of $1=(1-x)\exp\left(\frac{c-x^a}{a}\right)$ one could ask for the fourier transform. The 1 goes to the dirac delta , but

In[64]:= (* a = 1/2 *)
FourierTransform[E^(2 (c - Sqrt[x])) (1 - x), x, w]

Out[64]= (1/(8 Sqrt[2 \[Pi]] w^4 Abs[w]^(9/2)))E^(
 2 c - I/w) (-2 I E^(2 I/w) Sqrt[2 \[Pi]] w^5 (2 - 3 I w + 2 w^2) + 
   Sqrt[2 \[Pi]]
     w^4 (-3 I w + E^(2 I/w) (4 - 3 I w + 4 w^2)) Abs[w] -