5 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Beginner using CloudDeploy[FormFunction[]]

Posted 9 years ago

Hello!

I am a math teacher. Below is my code to just output a graph of any function. Unfortunately, it is only outputting a blank Cartesian grid. Any help would be sincerely appreciated. Thank you all!

CloudDeploy[FormFunction[{"equation" -> "MathExpression"}, Plot[ #equation, {x, -10, 10}]&, "PNG" ]]

PS. I halfway blindly copied this, and have no idea what the & does; just that it breaks without it.

POSTED BY: Uzair Qarni
5 Replies

I would start by making graphs and similar things. CloudDeploy and FormFunction are useful once you've learned the basics of the language.

I would take a look at the virtual book for an introduction:

http://reference.wolfram.com/language/tutorial/VirtualBookOverview.html

There are more resources in books and videos you might find helpful:

https://www.wolfram.com/broadcast/screencasts/handsonstart/

POSTED BY: Sean Clarke
Posted 9 years ago

Thank you for your responses! And Sean that's AWESOME thanks!!! I used the following example from the intro video:

CloudDeploy[FormFunction[{"size" -> "Number"}, Style["Hello World", Red, #size]&, "GIF"]]

It seems I underestimated the complexity of what I was getting into!

Some background: I currently spend a lot of time using Mac's Grapher and Screen capture to make my own worksheets. My ultimate goal is to automate making worksheets and multiple choice tests (i.e., I input lots of written prompts and equations, and I get out PNG's of each question prompt and choice A-E). Is there any good place I can start learning the necessary skills to properly use Wolfram Cloud/Language? I would happily pay for a great tutorial. I just stumbled across this stuff and feel like I could use this technology to really improve my productivity and content.

Thank you all!

POSTED BY: Uzair Qarni