Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
7 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Why does the command "where" work not always?

Posted 9 years ago

Hello,

I am very new to Wolframalpha and find it quite fascinating. But as I wanted to combine 4 derivatives of a single long function f, the input line was too short. So I tried some kind of substitution and found that such commands work:

f*2+f^2 where f=sin(x)

Here sin(x) is substituted for the letter f twice. BUT with derivatives the "where" command seems to fail sometimes, e.g.

(df/dx)+1 where f=sin(x)

Here the sin derivative is not performed. But with

df/dx where f=sin(x)

it works. Result: cos(x).

Therefore my question: Why does the substitution of f with the command "where" sometimes work and with a small variation it does not work anymore. Ist there maybe a better way to define a function f in advance or to substitute it?

POSTED BY: Robert Slanski
7 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Well, I did not find out how to do the assignment of a function to a letter (e.g. f(x) = sin(x)) work with the single command line in Wolframalpha - except for the very simple case shown above. So I found an old Maxima release that I had on an old CD from university times. There the calculation worked out fine.

It seems to understand that it should now compute the derivative of sin(x) but it does NOT do it.

It can't do it because it applies the wrong rule, it does

In[1]:= 1 + Derivative[1][f][x] /. {f -> Sin[x]}
Out[1]= 1 + Derivative[1][Sin[x]][x]

which is wrong (it is $1+Sin[x]'[x]$) instead of

In[2]:= 1 + Derivative[1][f][x] /. {f -> Sin}
Out[2]= 1 + Cos[x]

In mathematics too, you don't write $1+\sin(x)'(x)$ for the derivative of $\sin$, of course you write $1+\sin'(x)$. The problem here is the Substitution of Sin[x] into the head of Derivative.

POSTED BY: Udo Krause
Posted 9 years ago

Hello Dent de Lion,

very funny and curious answers that you got from Wolframalpha. ;-)