|
|
6 Replies
|
17 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Flight of boomerang

A boomerang is a thrown tool, typically constructed as a flat aero foil, that is designed to spin about an axis perpendicular to the direction of its flight. A returning boomerang is designed to return to the thrower. It is well known as a weapon used by Indigenous Australians for hunting.

enter image description here

The code with NDSolveValue is attached.

Simulation filght of boomerang.

enter image description here

References : "Principles and Simulation of the Flight of a Straight Boomerang" by : Nicolas Retrepo, Advisor : Dr.P.Venkataraman

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Mariusz Iwaniuk
6 Replies
Posted 9 years ago

Hello,

I am new to Mathematica and was going through a few simulations and animations, and trying a few things like Rotations and Transformations.

I had one doubt, is there any way to rotate the bowl along a certain axis while the marble is moving inside it at the same time?

Will a Rotate function like below used inside Initialization work?

Rot[\[Alpha]_] := {{Cos[\[Alpha]], -Sin[\[Alpha]]}, {Sin[\[Alpha]], 
     Cos[\[Alpha]]}}
   Rot1 = bowl
   Animate[
    Graphics[GeometricTransformation[Rot1, Rot[\[Alpha]]], 
     Axes -> True], {\[Alpha], 0, 2 \[Pi]}]

Thanks

POSTED BY: Varun Kulkarni

Yes it is possible, but its more complicated. I'm not a physicist. My skills in Mathematica are average.

If you want an answers, then write a new post(discussion).

Posted 9 years ago

Thank you, Mariusz, keep the good posts coming!

POSTED BY: Erik Mahieu

To response see above.

Posted 9 years ago