Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
13 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How can accurate measurements be made of angles found in an image?

Posted 9 years ago

I am a materials scientist studying the microstructures of alloys of tungsten, iron, and nickel processed using liquid-phase sintering. The alloys produce microstructures full of spheroid tungsten particles, some of them connected to other particles, within a matrix of iron-nickel alloy. In places where two particles connect, they form a "neck" between them, which appears as a solid-solid boundary extending in two directions to "triple-points" where the solid-liquid boundaries of the surfaces of the respective connected particles both intersect. The angles formed by the respective orientations of the three intersecting boudaries are known in literature as "dihedral angles" and are indicative of the respective energies of the boundaries that form them. The relative differences in boundary surface energies has dominating effects on the evolution of the microstructures of these alloys through the processing/sintering time, and so it is important to have tools that can take automated measurements of them as they appear in digital micrographs so that large samples of measurements may be accumulated to provide a large sample and more accurate estimates of the population statistics.