Message Boards Message Boards

Semantic Networks

Posted 9 years ago

What I want to do is construct the semantic network of a book (pdf format) and then a semantic network from various scientific articles (pdf format) and then compare the two to see if the book is scientifically correct and what new concepts does it add to the existing scientific research. Can anyone help me with the code. Is it even possible to do something like this in Mathematica? I am new to Mathematica and I am not really a good programmer. (Just some simple C++ programming experience)

6 Replies

Assuming the below image is correct then question/computation would be the book/articles

I apologize. I cannot understand what that means.

The "symbolic representation" part is very broad. It's not just a semantic network. Some of tools used in Wolfram|Alpha for symbolic representation are available in Mathematica. See the documentation on Entity for more information. Some tools used in Wolfram|Alpha are not available. Much of the algorithmic linguistic understanding is very domain specific or manually curated in some degree.

Can't this be done once for the book and once for the scientific articles and then check if there are matches, like genes in a DNA strand?

You mean like sequence alignment? It would be graph matching, which is harder, but I guess it's the same idea. And yes, that sounds really cool, but it's just not feasible. Who right now has semantic representations of documents that are so good it would make sense to this? No one.

I will stop beating around the bush. This is not how NLP and semantic computing works. Semantic networks aren't as good as you imagine them or as easy to make. If you're interested in this, work at becoming a better programmer and take some NLP/machine learning courses. These will you a good idea of what kinds of things are realisitic and possible.

POSTED BY: Sean Clarke