Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
9 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to use the Wolfram|Alpha time dilation calculator on Black Holes?

Posted 8 years ago

Hello,

I’m a graphic artist working for an education company in Arizona. I was given the task of writing a twenty page reader about black holes for middle school students, and all of my research has gone well. But I’ve reached a dead end regarding time dilation. I’m writing a scenario where the reader visits a ten-solar mass black hole while his or her friend stays at a safe distance. I would like to write the following:

If you could stay just in front of the event horizon, you could watch your ten year old friend turn 100 years old in just [xxx *amount of time*].

Unfortunately, I can’t get an adequate answer to this. I was directed to the time dilation calculator here http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=time+dilation+calculator , but I don’t know how to use it. Just playing with it I’ve gotten negative numbers, i, and “exceeds the speed of light’. I have no idea what any of this means. What’s the gravitational acceleration? What’s the rest frame? What’s the radius of what?

I know the time should be very short, but “a blink of an eye” isn’t useful. Would some kind-hearted soul be willing to walk me through this in layman’s language? Or better yet, give me an accurate (but not necessarily precise) number. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you and best regards,

Jack

POSTED BY: Jack M
9 Replies
Posted 6 years ago

Hello,

I am also trying to use the time dilation tool for a supermassive black hole, specifically, TON 618, which has approximately 66 Billion solar masses. However. I continue to get imaginary numbers. Here is the rundown:

So this gives us a horizon radius of 1.949x10^14 m, or 1.949x10^11 km

Converting to g, this gives us 23.515 g (doesn't this seem really low?)