6 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to change the initial conditions in a Modelica model within Mathematica

Posted 8 years ago

Hello

I am new to SystemModeler and in order to learn it I have decided to recode (in text format and using available blocks) my old fortran models. Using Modelica, I had not problem to recode some of the models and run them in WSM and Mathematica. My problem starts when I try to change the initial conditions using the following command:

model=
 WSMSimulate[mmodel, {0, 10}, WSMInitialValues -> {"n" -> 2 10^15}]

WSM returns the following error msg:

WSMSimulate::val: The variables {n} were not recognized. >>

I am not sure what is going on since WSMPlot[model, {"n"}] works just fine. What am I missing?

The initial conditions in the Modelica model are set as:

Real n(start = n0) "The electron";

Real m(start = n0) "The trapped electron";

Real p(start = p0) "The hole population densities";

Many thanks

Ed

PS. I have the same problem when I use the available blocks (integrator, gain, add, product, ...).

POSTED BY: Eduardo Mendes
6 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

Hi Patrick

Thank you ever so much. I will certainly watch the videos.

I have another question but I think it is for the best if I start new thread.

Regards

Ed

If you want to change the initial values for states of built in blocks, there will often be associated parameters that describe these initial values. Since these are inside components, you access these parameters by specifying the component name followed by a dot and then the parameter name, like so:

WSMSimulate[mmodel, {0, 10}, WSMParameterValues -> {"Variable_n.y_start" -> 2 10^15}]