Message Boards Message Boards

Solve a 2nd order ODE?

Posted 8 years ago

Hi, I am trying to solve the following formula in Mathematica, I have checked that the function it outputs is correct calculation that I entered, but the output is exactly the same as my input, i.e it literally says exactly what I entered, which I have put below:

DSolve[{((f''[t])^2) + (((f'[t])^2) (12 c + 24 c d Exp[a f[t]])) + 
    d Exp[a f[t]] (2 a + (a^2) (d Exp[a f[t]])) == 0, f[0] == 0}, 
 f[t], t]

I believe I also need to state the initial condition for f'[0] however it gives an error message when I enter any value for this, i.e f'[0]=0.

'Equation or list of equations expected instead of True in the first \
argument'

Could someone please tell me how I can find a solution for f[t] for this formula? I am a complete novice at Mathematica but will have to learn in the coming months!

Thank you!

POSTED BY: Indigo King
2 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

In general, when Mathematica just returns your input, perhaps with very tiny changes but not providing a solution, that is code telling you that it has no idea how to solve that particular problem.

Lots, maybe even almost all, differential equations do not have nice simple closed form symbolic solutions.

A good idea when one problem doesn't work is to try a very simple problem where you know the solution. For example:

DSolve[{f''[t] == -f[t], f[0] == 0, f'[0] == 1}, f[t], t]

should return

{{f[t] -> Sin[t]}}

If that works then you should have a tiny bit more confidence that your Mathematica appears to be functioning.

Or for your original problem you can assign constant values to all the parameters and try to get a numerical solution.

a = -1; c = 2; d = 3;
sols = NDSolve[{f''[t]^2+f'[t]^2 (12 c+24 c d Exp[a f[t]])+d Exp[a f[t]] (2 a+a^2 d Exp[a f[t]])==0, f[0]==0, f'[0]==1}, f[t], {t,0,1}]

That will complain about the solution blowing up, but it is possible to see some information before it blows up.

sol1 = f[t] /. sols[[1]];