Message Boards Message Boards

Front End/Back End design?

Posted 8 years ago

Background Info: I have created a notebook (in the Wolfram Language using the Desktop environment) that generates a user interface. I have also created 15 other notebooks that generate different kinds of data for the interface, if the user calls for it. Currently the 15 "back end" notebooks are set up as APIFunctions and can be deployed so that a $post request from an HTML page or query via a URL will return the data. That was fine when my front end was an HTML page, but now I'm trying to switch it so that the user interface is written in Wolfram Language (Grid[], Pane[], Button[], etc.) instead of HTML.

Main Question: What functions do I need to use so that the front end UI (notebook? Instant API?) asks for and gets data from the back end (cloud object? Instant API?)?

Obviously, I'm a beginner in the Wolfram Language, so please be patient with my cluelessness, and answer in a way that will make sense to me as I climb the learning curve. : )

Thanks in advance,

Mark

POSTED BY: Mark Greenberg
5 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

As so often happens, a good night's sleep and fresh eyes suggest solutions to what the night before seemed like an intractable obstacle. This morning I realized that if the back end was displaying data in a browser window, but returned $Failed when called by my front-end code, then there was something wrong with the front-end code. I rewrote the critical parts of the code, those quoted above. To my surprise and delight, it worked perfectly (okay, not perfectly, but it did work). Even the images came through, though they were being sent as humongous strings of RGB values!