Message Boards Message Boards

[WSSA16] New Word Ladder Game Bot with Scoring Based on Graphs

Word puzzles are fun and educational forms of entertainment that have many variations ranging all the way from scrabble and crosswords to hangman and word chains. One of the most famous word games is the Word Ladder puzzle, which was invented by Lewis Caroll back in 1877. I myself am a big lover of those kind of games and having the opportunity to participate in Wolfram Summer School and being a Mathematica newbie, I decided to take the chance and make my own word puzzle.

The main aim of the project was to create a spinoff of a classic childhood Word Ladder game using a non-playable character (NPC) bot. The project is based on concepts of machine learning and graph theory, and consists of three parts:

• creating the front-end interface and game engine
  • analyzing letter change frequency using graphs
  • implementing the scoring system

Graph of three-letter words

A graph of three letter words

The game starts when the player is given the option of choosing the length of the word, after what bot randomly selects a word of specified length from database. Then both player and the bot each take turns and change one letter at a time (e.g. room-doom-dorm). Whoever uses all of the possible words is the winner.

Selecting Vocabulary

The first step is to create a database of words.This is done by selecting words of appropriate length from WordData, taking as a reference Jon McLoone's article. I am also filtering out profanity:

badWords = Import["https://raw.githubusercontent.com/LDNOOBW/List-of-Dirty-Naughty-Obscene-and-Otherwise-Bad-Words/master/en", "List"];
newWords = Complement[WordData[], badWords];

myWords[n_]:=
    myWords[n]=
    DeleteCases[Cases[newWords, word_String/;
       (StringLength[word]===n && StringMatchQ[word, RegularExpression["[a-z]+"]])],"-Redacted word-"]

Functions