Message Boards Message Boards

Speed up numerical solution of differential equation using BSplines?

Posted 8 years ago

Dear Wolfarm community, I am very new with Mathematica. I've written a code which works pretty well, but the big problem is that it is so slow that I cannot use it. I usually use Matlab for this type of coding. The equivalent Matlab version is thousand times faster. Here in the following I report a dummy (very much simplified) version of code that contains the main operations I need to perform. Maybe I make some basic mistakes in programming with Mathematica that dramatically slow down the execution. When the parameters n and m increase, the code becomes unusable. Note also that I tried to replace all the functions defined in the code with compiled functions with command Compile. I expected to see big improvements but unfortunately it was not so. Is there a more efficient way to write this code? Thank you very much! Enzo

Clear["Global`*"]

(*Differential equation*)

Eq = D1w[1, 1] + D2w[1, 1, 2]

D1w[1, 1] + D2w[1, 1, 2]

(*Define BSpline parameters*)

p = 2;
q = 2;
n = 5;
m = 5;
r = n + p + 1;
s = m + q + 1;
rint = r + 1 - 2 (p + 1);
sint = s + 1 - 2 (p + 1);
Uint = Range[0, 1, 1/(rint + 1)]; 
Vint = Range[0, 1, 1/(sint + 1)];
U = N[Join[ConstantArray[0, p], Uint , ConstantArray[1, p]]];
V = N[Join[ConstantArray[0, q], Vint , ConstantArray[1, q]]];
Uc = Table[(Sum[U[[h + k]], {k, 1, p}])/p, {h, 1, n + 1}];
Vc = Table[(Sum[V[[h + k]], {k, 1, q}])/q, {h, 1, n + 1}];

(*Define BSpline approximations (Discretization) *)

D1w11[ic_, jc_, i_, j_] := 
  D[BSplineBasis[{p, U}, i - 1, u], {u, 1}] BSplineBasis[{q, V}, j - 1, v] W1[
     i, j] //. {u -> Uc[[ic]], v -> Vc[[jc]]};
D2w112[ic_, jc_, i_, j_] := 
  D[BSplineBasis[{p, U}, i - 1, u], {u, 1}] D[
     BSplineBasis[{q, V}, j - 1, v], {v, 1}] W1[i, j] //. {u -> Uc[[ic]], 
    v -> Vc[[jc]]};

(*Substitute the above approximate derivatives into the original differential equation*)